Welcome to Ryder Environmental

 

Ryder Environmental evolved from Ryder Consulting, a Dunedin company established in 1995.

We provide freshwater, marine, and terrestrial ecological advice to clients throughout New Zealand.

Expertise

We undertake ecological monitoring, data analysis and review. We provide advice to councils, government agencies, boards of inquiry, the Environment Court and private entities.

Freshwater Ecology

  • Ecosystem monitoring (lakes, reservoirs, wetlands, rivers and streams)
  • Assessments and mitigation strategies relating to  hydro-electric power schemes, irrigation, mining, roading and wind farms
  • Fish passage requirements
  • Resource surveys
  • Water quality assessments of discharges and receiving environments

Marine Ecology

  • Ecosystem monitoring (coastal, foreshore, offshore and ports)
  • Marine water/sediment quality investigations
  • Monitoring and impact assessments of coastal industrial and municipal outfall and storm-water discharges
  • Assessment of shellfish stocks
  • Surveys of effluent plumes
  • Identification of benthic coastal fauna and flora

Terrestrial Ecology

  • Fauna and flora surveys (avifauna, botany, herpetofauna)
  • Habitat mapping
  • Management and mitigation plans

Laboratory Services

  • Biological samples from freshwater and marine environments
  • Algae, cyanobacteria (benthic and planktonic), macroinvertebrate and fish sample processing
  • Chlorophyll a, sediment as organic and/or inorganic fractions, whole effluent toxicity testing
  • We routinely process samples from lakes, reservoirs, rivers and treatment ponds for indicators of health
  • We also liaise between client and chemical laboratories for the processing of water quality samples

Our Team

Greg Ryder
Environmental Scientist, Director
g.ryder@ryderenv.nz
Mark Sanders
Environmental Scientist, Director
m.sanders@ryderenv.nz
Ben Ludgate
Environmental Scientist, Director
b.ludgate@ryderenv.nz
Ruth Goldsmith
Environmental Scientist, Associate Director
r.goldsmith@ryderenv.nz
Brian Stewart
Senior Environmental Scientist, Associate
b.stewart@ryderenv.nz
Dean Olsen
Environmental Scientist, Associate Director
d.olsen@ryderenv.nz
Mandy Tocher
Senior Environmental Ecologist/Herpetologist
m.tocher@ryderenv.nz
Shannon Goodwin
Ecology Technician
s.goodwin@ryderenv.nz
Zoe Henderson
Ecology Technician
z.henderson@ryderenv.nz
Bryony Alden
Ecology Technician
b.alden@ryderenv.nz
Mike Wakelin
Ecology Technician
m.wakelin@ryderenv.nz
Christiane Funnell
Financial Administration Manager
c.funnell@ryderenv.nz

Contact

 

Ryder Environmental

195 Rattray Street, Dunedin
PO Box 1023, Dunedin 9054
Phone: 03 477 2119
Email: enquiries@ryderenv.nz