Welcome to Ryder Environmental

 

Ryder Environmental evolved from Ryder Consulting, a Dunedin company established in 1995.

We provide freshwater, marine, and terrestrial ecological advice to clients throughout New Zealand.

Expertise

We undertake ecological monitoring, data analysis and review. We undertake technical reviews and audits, assist with s92 requests, and prepare and present expert evidence. We provide advice to councils, government agencies, boards of inquiry, the Environment Court and private entities. 

 

Freshwater Ecology

  • Ecosystem monitoring (lakes, reservoirs, wetlands, rivers and streams)
  • Assessments and mitigation strategies relating to hydro-electric power schemes, irrigation, mining, roading and wind farms
  • Fish passage requirements
  • Resource surveys
  • Water quality assessments of discharges and receiving environments

Marine Ecology

  • Ecosystem monitoring (coastal, foreshore, offshore and ports)
  • Marine water/sediment quality investigations
  • Monitoring and impact assessments of coastal industrial and municipal outfall and storm-water discharges
  • Assessment of shellfish stocks
  • Surveys of effluent plumes
  • Identification of benthic coastal fauna and flora

Terrestrial Ecology

  • Expert scientific advice and assessments on lizards, plants, invertebrates, bats, birds, wetlands and conservation values
  • Fauna and flora surveys and habitat mapping
  • Assessments of effects and design of restoration, monitoring, management and mitigation plans
  • Pest and lizard management plans
  • Wildlife Act applications

Laboratory Services

  • Biological samples from freshwater and marine environments
  • Algae, cyanobacteria (benthic and planktonic), macroinvertebrate and fish sample processing
  • Chlorophyll a, sediment as organic and/or inorganic fractions, whole effluent toxicity testing
  • We routinely process samples from lakes, reservoirs, rivers and treatment ponds for indicators of health
  • We also liaise between client and chemical laboratories for the processing of water quality samples

Our Team

Greg Ryder
Environmental Scientist, Partner
g.ryder@ryderenv.nz
Mark Sanders
Consultant Ecologist, Partner
m.sanders@ryderenv.nz
Ben Ludgate
Environmental Scientist, Partner
b.ludgate@ryderenv.nz
Ruth Goldsmith
Environmental Scientist, Partner
r.goldsmith@ryderenv.nz
Mandy Tocher
Ecologist | Herpetologist, Principal
m.tocher@ryderenv.nz
Steve Rate
Senior Ecologist
s.rate@ryderenv.nz
Deni Murray
Environmental Scientist
d.murray@ryderenv.nz
Bryony Alden
Environmental Scientist
b.alden@ryderenv.nz
Mike Wakelin
Ecologist
m.wakelin@ryderenv.nz
Melanie Vermeulen
Environmental Scientist
m.vermeulen@ryderenv.nz
Megha Sethi
Ecology Technician
m.sethi@ryderenv.nz
Brian Stewart
Consultant Environmental Scientist
b.stewart@ryderenv.nz
Christiane Funnell
Financial Administration Manager
c.funnell@ryderenv.nz

Contact

 

Ryder Environmental

195 Rattray Street, Dunedin
PO Box 1023, Dunedin 9054
Phone: 03 477 2119
Email: enquiries@ryderenv.nz